Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

A garden is only as good as the ground that it's planted in. Discussion forum for the many ways to improve the soil where we plant our gardens.

Old June 4, 2007   #1
Tomstrees
Tomatovillian™

Default A new method ~

This year I'm doing somehting different, and that is:
After my fall garden prep. I did not over-turn my garden this spring. I just dug holes for my tomato / pepper seedlings; I then mulched with straw and seaweed.

I wanted to see if I could reduce soil borne problems.

Has anyone had success with "no-till" gardening ?

~ Tom
Tomstrees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4, 2007   #2
Sherry_AK
Tomatovillian™

I've been using the no-till method for a few years now. I'm a believer. The only time I turn the soil is where it's become compacted from me walking on it to plant/weed/water.
Sherry_AK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4, 2007   #3
Worth1
Tomatovillian™

Tom,
I don’t even own a tiller and never have.
One of my girl friends said she hoed right up to the stalks and I told her that was more than likely the cause of her BER.
(((((((Tearing up the roots.))))))))))
Before I plant I just use a grubbing hoe to turn up the soil. Then rake it out smooth.
And that is to clear out the weeds.
A tiller would beat me to death with all of these hard base ball sized river rocks.
I like the hole method/I need bigger holes.

Worth
Worth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4, 2007   #4
bryanccfshr
Tomatovillian™

Tiller? We don't need no stinking tiller!

Set up the beds so you never walk on the planting surface and never leave the soil naked to the elements. Cover that soil and don't walk on it. It's easy to keep weed free and to dig holes and amend the soil when it is time to plant.
bryanccfshr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4, 2007   #5
dcarch
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomstrees View Post