Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old July 5, 2015   #1
slowpoke73ds
Tomatovillian™

Default A second crop????

Around june first i started a few tomato plants with short branches that i cut off the already yielding original plants. I have gotten a couple to take root nicely and have them in pots now. Im on the gulf coast of florida and wonder if i can expect to get tomatoes from these new plants? The weather stays above freezing into november or even later around here--- I am a total newbie and have learned that next year, i will use a type of tomato that is better for my hotter summers.

I welcome any input or direction-- i'm in this for enjoyment and yummy maters too

I'm growing better boys now and plan to start with holmstead 24 seeds next year
Thanks
slowpoke73ds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5, 2015   #2
AlittleSalt
BANNED FOR LIFE

I'm in Texas, but I think you will have tomatoes
AlittleSalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5, 2015   #3
digsdirt
Tomatovillian™

Rooting cuttings (aka clones) is a pretty common practice among growers and a good way to get plants for a fall garden. Whether they will bear fruit or not depends on several things. Under ideal conditions - long enough season, no serious pest or disease problems, and the if cutting is from an indeterminate variety the answer is a definite yes.

If it was a determinate variety then production is much more iffy, even if the other factors are fine. That's because determinate varieties are genetically programed to produce terminal blooms/fruit and then stop most further production. So timing of cutting those cutting is crucial to success.

In your location fall tomato growing is usually quite good as you have a much longer season than most of us. So the only issue is what variety were the cuttings from?

Dave

Last edited by digsdirt; July 5, 2015 at 12:52 PM. Reason: spelling