Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General discussion regarding the techniques and methods used to successfully grow tomato plants in containers.

Old August 30, 2010   #1
jgaylord
Tomatovillian™

Default Earthtainer Year One Problems

This is my first year for Earthtainer tomatoes. I'm in zone 5, Ohio. I built six 'tainers following instructions to a "T". My results were as follows:
  • Spectacular startup growth. lush and green. Up to 8'+ in no time.
  • Less than expected fruit production. Many blossoms petered out (I suspect due to unusually hot, humid conditions).
  • About 1/3 BER (used the Espoma garden lime per instructions).
  • After 75-90 days, purple leaves and stem lesions, fruit mostly ruined.
  • Total plant yellowing and dying off.
I took a plant to the Ohio State University Extension lab and here is the report:

"The primary problem with the tomato plant sample is lack of fertility. The purpling of the leaves is typical of potassium deficiency, but overall, the plant looked like it was pretty much lacking in everything. When growing plants in containers the initial fertilizer is usually good enough for 8-10 weeks, assuming heavy or frequent rainfall does not wash fertilizers out of the container . After that, additional fertilization is needed at regular intervals. This is outlined in HYG-1645 which can be viewed at: http://ohioline.osu.edu/hyg-fact/1000/1645.html Note that with tomatoes you do need to be careful not to overfertilize with nitrogen which will make the plant produce foliage, but not fruit. The stem cankers are due to an Alternaria fungus, but not the early blight fungus. This may be Alternaria tenuis. The thing to know about this fungus is that it is not considered aggressive, it tends to affect stressed plants which circles you back to the nutrient problem. No treatment is recommended at this time of year. When the season is over carefully remove all the plant tissue and dispose of it, do not compost."