Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old June 13, 2015   #1
luigiwu
Tomatovillian™

Default Pruning Indeterminate DWARFS

I only container garden and mostly in 5 gallon buckets or 7 gallon root pouches. Last year I supported everything with clips and baler twine - only one stem per plant allowed. This year I'm trying two stems per plan - craaaazy stuff, right? lol

My question is regarding DWARFS (dwarves?) - do you prune them as you would a regular indeterminate? Will their relative shortness in height (and I don't actually know how short they will are) be okay if I let all suckers etc to just grow?
Old June 13, 2015   #2
Bipetual
Tomatovillian™

I'm no expert but I think I would just let em grow, suckers and all. Maybe you could prune the very bottom a bit to keep the leaves from getting wet or making contact with the medium, but other than that I tend to think you would be limiting your yield. Especially if this is your first year growing them. See what they do and how big the different varieties get, how they yield, etc. Then next year you can make a more informed decision. Better safe than sorry?
Bipetual is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13, 2015   #3
ginger2778
Tomatovillian™

I dont prune thei laterals, but I will thin out some of the leaves so there is better air flow. Less disease.
ginger2778 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13, 2015   #4
jmsieglaff
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by ginger2778 View Post
I dont prune thei laterals, but I will thin out some of the leaves so there is better air flow. Less disease.
+1. I do the same and have been pleased with the results.
jmsieglaff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13, 2015   #5
maf
Tomatovillian™