Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Information and discussion regarding garden diseases, insects and other unwelcome critters.

Old June 1, 2006   #1
DennisinPa
Tomatovillian™

Default Anthracnose Ouestion

Hi all, I have trouble with Anthracnose and hate throwing tomatoes away
This year I want to try using Daconil and was wondering if I should start using it at the first sign of trouble or start applying it sooner

Thanks for the help
Dennis
DennisinPa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1, 2006   #2
Suze
Tomatovillian™

Dennis, I have limited experience with anthracnose here, but time and time again, I've heard cooler zone growers (including Carolyn) say that it tends to be more of a late season disease that doesn't really express itself until towards the end of the season when night temps drop and morning dew increases.

It might not be necessary for you to start spraying right this second, but if you choose to spray, you would want to start spraying before you'd normally see symptoms -- just like with most fungal diseases.

FWIW, I've also heard some state that it is more likely to affect tomatoes that are left unpicked to the dead ripe or overripe stage. So if you're having problems with anthracnose, it might be a good idea to pick fruits before they reach that stage.
Suze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2, 2006   #3
DennisinPa
Tomatovillian™

Default Anthracnose Question

Suze, Thank you for the information

Dennis
DennisinPa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13, 2006   #4
feldon30
Tomatovillian™

Every one of my tomatoes and even one of my bell peppers are ripening and exhibiting anthracnose.

Do I need to throw these fruit away?

If I spray with Daconil right now, will it systemically treat the anthracnose, or are all the green fruit hanging off my plants doomed?